Ellen Griffin Rolex Award

Ellen Griffin Rolex Award

Ellen GriffinIn 1989, the LPGA established the Ellen Griffin Rolex Award. Ellen Griffin was considered by many to be the best-known woman golf teacher in American history. Griffin taught near Greensboro, NC, at “The Farm.” She was recognized for her outstanding contributions to the game many times, including the 1970 National Golf Foundation Graffis Award.

The Ellen Griffin Rolex Award is awarded annually to a male or female golf teacher who has done the following:

  • Demonstrated in their teaching, the same spirit, love and dedication as Ellen did to the golf student, teaching skills and the game of golf; and
  • Made a major contribution to the teaching of golf.

By honoring teachers who dedicate their lives to this purpose, the LPGA honors Ellen Griffin and encourages golf teachers to seek the same spirit and ideals.


Kerry Graham
Kathy Murphy
2012 Dr. Betsy Clark Story>>
2011 Dr. Debbie Crews  
2010 Mary Beth McGirr  
2009 Kay McMahon  
2009 Kay McMahon  
2008 Lynn Marriott  
2007 Betsy Cullen  
2006 Donna White  
2005 Pat Lange  
2004 Marge Burns  
2003 Dr. Barbara B. Smith  
2002 Annette Thompson  
2001 Penny Zavichas  
2000 Dr. Gary Wiren  
1999 Betty Hicks  
1998 Shirley Spork  
1997 Dr. DeDe Owens  
1996 Ann Casey Johnstone  
1995 Joanne Winter  
1994 Carol Clark Johnson  
1993 Goldie Bateson  
1992 Harvey Penick  
1991 Shirley Englehorn  
1990 Linda Craft  
1989 Peggy Kirk Bell  
Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers