Most Viewed Blogs

Stats and Stuff: Vare Trophy Race

Jiyai Shin
Photo Credit: David Cannon/Getty Images

Jiyai Shin of Korea reacts to holing a birdie putt on the 15th green during the final round of the Ricoh Women's British Open at Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Hoylake, England.

October 10 2012, Ward Clayton
Untitled Document
Battle for the Vare Trophy
As the LPGA season comes down to a six-some of tournaments to determine season-ending statistical leaders, one of the most coveted awards may also be determined by how much the leader plays.
South Korea’s Jiyai Shin is the current scoring leader on the LPGA with a 70.14 stroke average, edging American Stacy Lewis (70.33) in the race for the Vare Trophy, named in honor of Glenna Collett-Vare.
However, because Shin missed nearly two months of this season after undergoing wrist surgery, she has some ground to make up in the rounds played area to qualify for the award. According to LPGA guidelines, a player must compete in a minimum of 70 rounds or 70 percent of official LPGA tournament rounds, whichever is less, during the LPGA year.
Shin has played 51 rounds out of a possible 77 rounds to total 66 percent of the official rounds on the season. That is 24 less rounds and seven less tournaments than Lewis. There are 22 rounds remaining this season, with two of the Asian Swing tournaments being played over 54 holes and the other four tournaments at 72 holes. Shin would be just above the minimum in both ways if she played every round remaining. Shin has played in 70-plus tournaments in a season only one time in her career, in 2009 (89).
Here are the Vare Trophy standings currently:

Place Player Strokes Rounds Average Tournaments
1 Jiyai Shin 3,577 51 70.14 14
2 Stacy Lewis 5,275 75 70.33 21
3 Inbee Park 4,448 63 70.6 18
4 So Yeon Ryu 4,732 67 70.63 19
5 Ai Miyazato 4,172 59 70.71 18
6 Na Yeon Choi 4,527 64 70.73 17
7 Shanshan Feng 3,895 55 70.82 15
8 Mika Miyazato 3,899 55 70.89 17
9 Paula Creamer 4,757 67 71 19
10 Amy Yang 4,335 61 71.07 18

Here are the previous Vare Trophy winners:

Year Player Average
2011 Yani Tseng 69.66
2010 Na Yeon Choi 69.87
2009 Lorena Ochoa 70.1566
2008 Lorena Ochoa 69.6988
2007 Lorena Ochoa 69.6854
2006 Lorena Ochoa 69.2360
2005 Annika Sorenstam 69.25
2004 Grace Park 69.99
2003 Se Ri Pak 70.03
2002 Annika Sorenstam 68.70
2001 Annika Sorenstam 69.42
2000 Karrie Webb 70.05
1999 Karrie Webb 69.43
1998 Annika Sorenstam 69.99
1997 Karrie Webb 70.00
1996 Annika Sorenstam 70.47
1995 Annika Sorenstam 71.00
1994 Beth Daniel 70.90
1993 Betsy King 70.85
1992 Dottie Pepper 70.80
1991 Pat Bradley 70.66
1990 Beth Daniel 70.54
1989 Beth Daniel 70.38
1988 Colleen Walker 71.26
1987 Betsy King 71.14
1986 Pat Bradley 71.10
1985 Nancy Lopez 70.73
1984 Patty Sheehan 71.40
1983 JoAnne Carner 71.41
1982 JoAnne Carner 71.49
1981 JoAnne Carner 71.75
1980 Amy Alcott 71.51
1979 Nancy Lopez 71.20
1978 Nancy Lopez 71.76
1977 Judy Rankin 72.16
1976 Judy Rankin 72.25
1975 JoAnne Carner 72.40
1974 JoAnne Carner 72.87
1973 Judy Rankin 73.08
1972 Kathy Whitworth 72.38
1971 Kathy Whitworth 72.88
1970 Kathy Whitworth 72.26
1969 Kathy Whitworth 72.38
1968 Carol Mann 72.04
1967 Kathy Whitworth 72.74
1966 Kathy Whitworth 72.60
1965 Kathy Whitworth 72.61
1964 Mickey Wright 72.46
1963 Mickey Wright 72.81
1962 Mickey Wright 73.67
1961 Mickey Wright 73.55
1960 Mickey Wright 73.25
1959 Betsy Rawls 74.03
1958 Beverly Hanson 74.92
1957 Louise Suggs 74.64
1956 Patty Berg 74.57
1955 Patty Berg 74.47
1954 Babe Zaharias 75.48
1953 Patty Berg 75.00

Kuala Lumpur’s watery test

Kuala Lumpur Country Club, the site of this week’s Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia, is hosting the tournament for the third consecutive year. The course has water in play on 13 holes, including the finishing stretch of four holes that includes the short par-3 15th with an island green, the 521-yard 16th that is reachable in two shots, the par-3 17th with a lake fronting the green and the par-4 18th with a lake down the right side of the fairway and short of the double green.
One of the most impressive features of the facility is a new driving range that includes three levels with 78 hitting bays and four target greens that resemble four holes on the course.
The 36-hole facility, which opened in 1991, has hosted three Malaysian Opens on the Asian and European Tours for the men on the West Course, with Charlie Wi winning in 2006, Noh Seung-yul in 2010 and Luis Oosthuizen earlier this year the week after he lost the Masters Tournament playoff to Bubba Watson.

Malaysia will host PGA Tour event in two weeks

Kuala Lumpur will be the site of another professional tournament in two weeks. Tiger Woods leads the field for the Oct. 25-28 CIMB Classic at the Mimes Resort & Golf Club which is approximately 30 minutes from this week’s LPGA site. The tournament is co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour and Asian Tour.

Recari’s busy season

Last week, Beatriz Recari was in San Francisco for a corporate outing before returning to her U.S. home base in Florida and then quickly departing for the Asian Swing on the LPGA. But the busy schedule is nothing new for the Spanish golfer. She has played in every LPGA event this year, official and unofficial, and hasn’t missed a cut. She leads the LPGA in official rounds played (77), but has participated in 81 rounds if you include the Sybase Match Play Championship, where she was eliminated in the second round, and the unofficial, 36-hole HSBC LPGA Brasil Cup. She plans on playing all six of the remaining events on the 2012 schedule.
Here are her finishes, in order, this season: T10, T57, T42, T66, T43, T26, 72, T31, T10, T33, T40, T45, T40, T28, T35, T9, T9, T44, T60, T25, T26 and T6.

Shin going for three in a row

Jiyai Shin will be going for her third consecutive win on the LPGA this week. The South Korean won the Kingsmill Championship in early September and the Ricoh Women’s British Open the following week in England. She didn’t play in the Navistar LPGA Classic.
Nancy Lopez and Annika Sorenstam hold the LPGA mark for most consecutive wins in tournament starts at five. Here is how they did it:
Nancy Lopez, 1978: Greater Baltimore Classic, May 12-14; Coca-Cola Classic, May 19-21; Golden Lights Championship, May 26-29; did not play Peter Jackson Classic, June 1-4; LPGA Championship, June 8-11; Bankers Trust Classic, June 16-18.

Annika Sorenstam, 2004-2005: 2004 Mizuno Classic, Nov. 5-7; 2004 ADT Championship, Nov. 18-21; 2005 MasterCard Classic honoring Alejo Peralta, March 4-6; 2005 Safeway International Presented by Coca-Cola, March 17-20; 2005 Kraft Nabisco Championship, March 24-27.

Topics: Stats and Stuff

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers