Most Viewed Blogs

Stats and Stuff: Manulife Financial LPGA Classic

June 19 2012, Ward Clayton

History in Canada

Canada has a rich history of hosting LPGA tournaments, dating back to 1966 when Kathy Whitworth beat Mickey Wright by three strokes at the Supertest Ladies Open at Sunningdale Golf Course in London, Ontario. This includes the du Maurier Classic, which was a major championship on the LPGA from 1979-2000.

This week’s Manulife Financial LPGA Classic marks the 47th tournament to be played in Canada and will be the first of two events there this year, with the CN Canadian Women’s Open slated for Aug. 23-26.

Here is a list of LPGA events played in Canada:
Year  Tournament Site Winner
1966 Supertest Ladies Open Sunningdale GC, London, Ontario Kathy Whitworth
1967 Supertest Ladies’ Open Sunningdale GC, London, Ontario Carol Mann
1968 Supertest Canadian Open  Bayview GC, Toronto Carol Mann
1968 Willow Park Ladies Invitational Willow Park CC, Calgary Carol Mann
1969 Ladies’ Supertest Open Bayview CC, Toronto, Ontario Sandra Haynie
1969 Tournament of Champs  Glendale G&CC, Winnipeg, Manitoba Carol Mann
1969 Molson’s Canadian Open Shaughnessy G&CC, Vancouver, BC Carol Mann
1973 LaCanadienne Golf Championship Montreal GC, Montreal Jocelyne Bourassa
1974 Peter Jackson Ladies Classic Canadian GC, Montreal Carole Jo Skala
1975 Peter Jackson Classic St. George’s CC, Toronto JoAnne Carner
1976 Peter Jackson Classic Cedar Brae G&CC, Toronto Donna Caponi
1977 Peter Jackson Classic Lachute G&CC   Montreal Judy Rankin
1978 Peter Jackson Classic St. George’s GC, Islington, Ontario JoAnne Carner
1979 Peter Jackson Classic Richelieu Valley CC, Montreal Amy Alcott
1980 Peter Jackson Classic  St. George’s GC, Islington, Ontario  Pat Bradley
1981 Peter Jackson Classic  Summerlea CC, Dorion, Quebec Jan Stephenson
1982 Peter Jackson Classic  St. George’s G&CC, Toronto Sandra Haynie
1983 Peter Jackson Classic Beaconsfield GC, Montreal Hollis Stacy
1984 du Maurier Classic St. George’s G&CC, Toronto Juli Inkster
1985 du Maurier Classic Beaconsfield CC, Montreal Pat Bradley
1986 du Maurier Classic Board of Trade CC, Toronto  Pat Bradley
1987 du Maurier Ltd. Classic Islesmere GC, Laval, Quebec Jody Rosenthal
1988 du Maurier Ltd. Classic The Vancouver GC, Coquitlam  Sally Little
1989 du Maurier Ltd. Classic Beaconsfield GC, Montreal Tammie Green
1990 du Maurier Ltd. Classic Westmount G&CC, Kitchener, Ontario Cathy Johnston
1991 du Maurier Ltd. Classic Vancouver GC, Coquitlam, BC Nancy Scranton
1992 du Maurier Ltd. Classic St. Charles CC, Winnipeg, Manitoba Sherri Steinhauer
1993 du Maurier Ltd. Classic London Hunt & CC, London, Ontario Brandie Burton
1994 du Maurier Ltd. Classic Ottawa Hunt Club, Ottawa, Ontario Martha Nause
1995 du Maurier Ltd. Classic Beaconsfield GC, Pointe-Claire, Quebec Jenny Lidback
1996 du Maurier Classic Edmonton CC, Edmonton, Alberta Laura Davies
1997 du Maurier Classic Glen Abbey GC, Oakville, Ontario Coleen Walker
1998 du Maurier Classic Essex G&CC, Windsor, Ontario Brandie Burton
1999 du Maurier Classic Priddis Greens G&CC, Calgary, Alberta Karrie Webb
2000 du Maurier Classic Royal Ottawa GC, Aylmer, Quebec Meg Mallon
2001 Bank of Montreal Canadian Women’s Open Angus Glen GC South, Markham, Ontario Annika Sorenstam
2002 Bank of Montreal Canadian Women’s Open Summerlea G&CC, Vaudreuil-Dorian, Quebec Meg Mallon
2003 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women’s Open Point Grey G&CC, Vancouver, B.C. Beth Daniel
2004 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women’s Open Legends on the Niagara, Battlefield, Niagara Falls, Ont Meg Mallon
2005 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women’s Open Glen Arbour GC, Halifax, Nova Scotia Meena Lee
2006 CN Canadian Women’s Open London Hunt&CC, London, Ontario Cristie Kerr
2007 CN Canadian Women’s Open Royal Mayfair GC, Edmonton, Alberta Lorena Ochoa
2008 CN Canadian Women’s Open Ottawa Hunt&GC, Ottawa, Ontario  Katherine Hull
2009 CN Canadian Women’s Open Priddis Greens G&CC, Priddis, Alberta Suzann Pettersen
2010  CN Canadian Women’s Open Coquitlam, British Columbia Michelle Wie
2011 CN Canadian Women’s Open Mirabel Brittany Lincicome


New venue is a public course

Grey Silo Golf Course, the site of this week’s tournament, is located about 70 miles west of Toronto. The course is situated along the Grand River and is owned by the city of Waterloo. Being a public course is one of the main reasons tournament organizers chose Grey Silo as the site.

Grey Silo’s normal course routing will be altered for this week’s tournament. The 160-yard, par-3 16th hole, which plays over water, will be the 17th hole. The 450-yard, par-5 17th, which has no water, will be the finishing hole. There are also consecutive par-5 holes on the front nine (Nos. 4 and 5).

Home country participants

There are nine Canadians in the field this week. They include Lorie Kane of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; Alena Sharp of Hamilton, Ontario; Jessica Shepley of Oakville, Ontario; Maude-Aimee Leblanc of Sherbrooke, Quebec;  Stephanie Sherlock of Barrie, Ontario; Rebecca Lee-Bentham of Richmond Hill, Ontario; Samantha Richdale of Kelowna, B.C.; and amateur Jennifer Kirby of Paris, Ontario, who was a member of Alabama’s NCAA championship team.

Statistically speaking

Two Canadians are at the top of the driving categories on the LPGA. Samantha Richdale leads the LPGA in Driving Accuracy at 85.7 percent. Maude-Aimee Leblanc is second in Driving Distance at 278 yards, just one yard behind Brittany Lincicome.

New tournaments

This week’s event is the third new tournament on the LPGA schedule this season. The ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open started the season in Australia. The LPGA LOTTE Championship in Hawaii was the second new tournament of the season. The Jamie Farr Toledo Classic is scheduled for Aug. 9-12 in Sylvania, Ohio, and the Kingsmill Championship in Virginia on Sept. 6-9.

Next tournament after a major

Only five players have won the Wegmans LPGA Championship and come back with a victory in the next tournament, still the most week-after success of any major on the LPGA. Shanshan Feng, the winner of the Wegmans LPGA two weeks ago, is aiming to join that group this week. The consecutive winners include:


Date of LPGA Championship Win

Tournament won next week, date

Beverly Hanson*

July 17, 1955

Battle Creek Open, July 31, 1955

Nancy Lopez

June 11, 1978

Bankers Trust Classic, June 18, 1978

Jan Stephenson

June 13, 1982

Lady Keystone Open, June 20, 1982

Patty Sheehan

June 3, 1984

McDonald's Kids Classic, June 10, 1984

Sherri Turner

May 22, 1988

LPGA Corning Classic, May 29, 1988


*An unofficial event, the Virginia Hot Springs Four-Ball, was staged between Hanson’s win at the LPGA Championship and her win at the Battle Creek Open.

Topics: Stats and Stuff, Manulife LPGA Classic

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers