Popular News

View More

Gustafson awarded GWAA's Ben Hogan Award

Untitled Document HOUSTON (January 4 2012) - Sophie Gustafson, who battles a severe stuttering problem, has been awarded the prestigious Golf Writers Association of America Ben Hogan Award for remaining active in golf despite a physical handicap or serious illness.

She will be honored, along with GWAA Female Player of the Year Yani Tseng at the Annual GWAA Awards Dinner, April 4 in Augusta, Ga.

Gustafson has been on eight Solheim Cups and won five LPGA events in her 13-year career, but hasn't gotten the attention that such a record would merit because of her stuttering problem. Last fall, she opened up and went "outside my comfort zone" to do a pre-Solheim television interview with incredible grace and dignity. She often lets her thoughtful - and fun side -- and her sense of humor show through on her blog and in her tweets. She edged Bryce Molder for the Award. Heath Slocum finished third.

Former Hogan award winners include Rankin, Tom Watson, Barbara Douglas, Ken Green, Erik Compton, Denis Watson, Hubert Green, Bruce Edwards, Jeff Julian, Scott Verplank, Jose-Maria Olazabal, Casey Martin, Paul Azinger, Robert Allenby, Lee Trevino, John Mahaffey, Jim Nelford, Ken Venturi, Terri-Jo Meyers and Steve Jones.



Topics: Gustafson, Sophie, Player Feature

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers