Gustafson voted by peers as Heather Farr Perseverance Award winner

Sophie Gustafson
Photo Credit: Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Sophie Gustafson of Sweden poses with her Heather Farr Preserverance Award at the LPGA Rolex Awards Celebration at the Ritz-Carlton Resort on November 16, 2012 in Naples, Florida.

LPGA players voted Sophie Gustafson as the winner of the Heather Farr Perseverance Award.

Fifteen-year LPGA Tour veteran and Sweden native Sophie Gustafson has lived with a speech impediment since childhood. It wasn't until last year's Solheim Cup that Gustafson participated in her first-ever television interview with Golf Channel. Since her courageous interview, Gustafson has opened up to the media about her stuttering to spread the word about the speech impediment.   

"I'm very honored and humbled to be given this award from my peers," Gustafson said of winning the award. "To be able to get the word out there about stuttering is immensely important and I'm very happy I gotten the opportunity to do so.

The Heather Farr Player award honors an LPGA player who, through her hard work, dedication and love of the game of golf, has demonstrated determination, perseverance and spirit in fulfilling her goals as a player. The LPGA established the award in 1994 to celebrate the life of Farr, an LPGA Tour player who died on Nov. 20, 1993, following a four-and-a-half-year battle with breast cancer. Past winners of this award include: Heather Farr, Shelley Hamlin, Martha Nause, Terry-Jo Myers, Lorie Kane, Nancy Scranton, Brandi Burton, Kris Tschetter, Kim Williams, Beth Daniel, Colleen Walker, Amy Read, Se Ri Pak and Leta Lindley.



Topics: Gustafson, Sophie

Players talk about Sophie Gustafson

Players vote Gustson as Heather Farr Perseverance Award winner

Players talk about why Sophie Gustafson earned the Heather Farr Perseverance Award.

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers