In the Winner's Circle with So Yeon Ryu

Photo Credit: Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

So Yeon Ryu of South Korea reacts on the 18th green after posting a leading score of -20 during the final round of the the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-I at Highland Meadows Golf Club.

Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-I
August 12, 2012

Hometown/Birthplace – South Korea
– June 29, 1990 – currently 22 years, 1 month, 14 days
Qualified for LPGA Tour
– Won the 2011 U.S. Women’s Open
Turned Professional
– 2008


2nd career LPGA victory: 2011 U.S. Women’s Open, 2012 Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-I.

She defeated Hee Kyung Seo in a three-hole playoff at the 2011 U.S. Women’s Open as a non-member to earn her LPGA Tour card for the 2012 season.

Becomes the fifth Rolex First-Time Winner of 2012 since her first win came as a non-member. She joins Jessica Korda (ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open), Azahara Munoz (Sybase Match Play Championship), Shanshan Feng (Wegmans LPGA Championship) and Brittany Lang (Manulife Financial LPGA Classic).

With the $195,000 first-place check, she increases her career and season earnings to $738,510.

She is a six-time winner on the Korean Ladies Professional Golf Association (KLPGA).

Earns 30 points in the Rolex Player of the Year race, bringing her total to 76 points on the year and moving her into seventh place.

The victory marks her eighth top-10 finish of the season and the seventh time that she’s finished in the top 5. Her previous season-best finish was a T2 at the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open when she lost in a six-person playoff to Jessica Korda.

Becomes the fourth South Korean to win on the LPGA Tour this season, joining Sun Young Yoo (Kraft Nabisco Championship), Na Yeon Choi (U.S. Women’s Open) and Inbee Park (Evian Masters Championship Presented by Societe Generale).

Earns 150 points towards the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year race to extend her lead to 403 points over Lexi Thompson.

Topics: In the winners circle, Ryu, So Yeon, Marathon Classic

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers