All Aboard! Canadian Pacific Named Title Sponsor of Canadian Women’s Open

Lydia Ko
Photo Credit: Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

Lydia Ko of New Zealand celebrates after making a birdie putt on the 18th hole to cement her five stroke victory during the final round of the CN Canadian Women's Open at Royal Mayfair Golf Club on August 25, 2013 in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Transcontinental railway signs three-year deal and increases purse to $2.25 million

DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA, November 6, 2013 – The LPGA and Golf Canada today announced a three-year partnership with transcontinental railway Canadian Pacific to become title sponsor of the Canadian Women’s Open.

TWEET IT! @LPGA & @TheGolfCanada announce @CanadianPacific as new title sponsor of @CPWomensOpen

The newly-named Canadian Pacific Women’s Open will be held at the London Hunt and Country Club in London, Ontario from August 21-24, 2014. The event, which has been a staple on the LPGA Tour for many years, will make its return to the city of London for the first time since 2006.

“On behalf of Golf Canada, the LPGA Tour and Canadian golf fans from coast to coast, I want to thank Canadian Pacific, and especially CEO Hunter Harrison, for aligning their respected brand with our National Women’s Open Golf Championship,” said Golf Canada CEO Scott Simmons. “This is an exciting day as we welcome a storied institution in Canadian Pacific as a proud partner in Canadian golf.” 

VIDEO: The LPGA introduces the Canadian Pacific Women's Open

Through CP’s sponsorship, the event’s purse will be increased to $2.25 million, ranking in the top-four of largest purses on Tour.

“The Canadian Women’s Open and a partnership with Golf Canada and the LPGA Tour fits well with our brand, it will excite our customers and will leave a lasting charitable legacy in communities where we do business,” said Canadian Pacific CEO E. Hunter Harrison. “I am confident when I say we will take this great event to new heights and continue to preserve its status as the premier event on the LPGA Tour.”

Teen phenom Lydia Ko will return to Canada as the event’s two-time defending champion and will be a rookie next season on the LPGA Tour after being granted membership last month by Commissioner Mike Whan. The event has produced acclaimed winners including LPGA and World Golf Halls of Famer Annika Sorenstam (2001), Meg Mallon (2002 & 2004), Beth Daniel (2003), Lorena Ochoa (2007) and Suzann Pettersen (2009).

"On behalf of the LPGA Tour, I would like to congratulate both Canadian Pacific and Golf Canada on today's exciting news regarding the Canadian Women’s Open,” said Whan.  “For our players, this championship has become a must-play event and we look forward to working with Canadian Pacific to showcase the LPGA Tour to millions of golf fans in Canada, across North America and throughout the world."

American Cristie Kerr won her eighth-career LPGA Tour title at London Hunt and Country Club in 2006, overcoming an eight-shot deficit in the final round. The Robert Trent Jones course was renovated by Jones’ son, Rees in 2000 and also played host to the 1993 duMaurier Ltd. Classic while it was an LPGA major and the Canadian Men’s Amateur in 2010.

“We are delighted to be selected as the host venue for the inaugural Canadian Pacific Women’s Open,” said Wayne Dunn, President of London Hunt and Country Club. “Our golf course will once again provide a wonderful challenge to the stars of the LPGA Tour and we look forward to rallying with our members, 1,200 volunteers and the entire London community to deliver a world class showcase.”

Plans are already underway for the 2014 Canadian Pacific Women’s Open at London Hunt and Country Club. For corporate hospitality, tickets, volunteer and sponsorship information please visit or call 1-866-571-5742.

Topics: Press Release

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers