Players Ready for ISPS Handa Legends Tour Open

BOSTON, Nov. 7, 2013 – Pairings have been set for the Legends Tour’s ISPS Handa Legends Tour Open Championship.

The 36-hole event will be played this weekend (Nov. 9-10) on the Island Course at Innisbrook Resort in Palm Harbor, Fla. The fifth annual event will offer a purse of $200,000, with the winner taking home a prize check of $30,000.

The championship will conclude the 2013 season for the Legends Tour, the official senior tour of the LPGA.

Great Britain’s Laura Davies returns as the event’s defending champion. She won the 2012 Legends Tour Open Championship by two strokes over runners-up Beth Daniel and Barb Moxness.

One of five LPGA and World Golf Hall of Famers in the championship, Daniel hopes to secure her first Legends Tour win. She has four top-10 finishes in five starts of stroke-play events on the Legends Tour and has finished in the top five in two appearances at the season-ending tournament.

Hall of Famers joining Daniel in this year’s tournament field will be: Pat Bradley, JoAnne Carner, Nancy Lopez and Hollis Stacy. Legends Tour Hall of Fame member Jan Stephenson, whose singles match clenched the World Team’s first ISPS Handa Cup, also will be in the field.

Past champions of the Legends Tour Open include six-time Legends Tour winner Rosie Jones and Michele Redman, career winner of two Legends Tour events.

Both Jones and Redman were tournament winners in 2013 and will join other season winners in the tournament field this week. Those 2013 tournament winners are: Betsy King/Jane Crafter (team event), Nancy Scranton, Alicia Dibos, Sherri Turner, Sherri Steinhauer and Canada’s Lorie Kane, the Legends Tour’s 2013 season money leader.

England’s Trish Johnson will join compatriot Davies in the field. Liselotte Neumann of Sweden, who was the captain of the winning 2013 European Solheim Cup team in August, also will play in this week’s season-ending event.

Georgia native Cindy Schreyer earned a spot in the tournament field in today’s 18-hole qualifier. Schreyer carded a 4-under 68 and scored a hole-in-one on the par-3 13th hole on the Island Course at Innisbrook to advance into the championship.
The Colleen Walker Memorial Pro-Am is set for Friday, Nov. 8, starting at 11 a.m. The event is being played in honor and celebration of LPGA veteran and Legends Tour member Colleen Walker, who lost her battle with cancer shortly after last year’s tournament. Admission is free for the pro-am.
The Colleen Walker Spirit Award was created to recognize an active LPGA Legend who best embodies the spirit, determination and never-give-up attitude shown by Walker. This year’s recipient will be honored following play at the pro-am awards reception.

Gates open at 7:30 a.m. each day, with tee times starting at 8 a.m. each day of the professional championship.

Tickets are $10 each day and are available at the gate. Tickets are also available at all area Walgreens stores for a 50 percent discount off gate pricing. A “Legends Weekend Pass” for both days of competition may also be purchased for $10 at Walgreens locations. Kids 17-under and all military personnel with I.D. get in free.

Free public parking for the event will be located in a lot at the corner of Belcher and Klosterman near Innisbrook Resort. Super Shuttle will provide complimentary transportation to the main entrance of the Island Course.

Here are the ISPS Handa Legends Tour Open Championship first-round pairings:

8:00 AM - Dina Ammaccapane, Laura Shanahan Rowe
8:10 AM - Donna Andrews, Jean Bartholomew
8:20 AM - Marilyn Lovander, Kathryn Young Robyn
8:30 AM - Martha Nause, Cindy Schreyer
8:40 AM - Jenny Lidback, Cathy Johnston-Forbes
8:50 AM - Jane Crafter, Lori West
9:00 AM - Judy Dickinson, Shelley Hamlin
9:10 AM - Allison Finney, Elaine Crosby
9:20 AM - Trish Johnson, Cindy Figg-Currier
9:30 AM - Kris Tschetter, Barb Moxness
9:40 AM - Barb Mucha Alicia Dibos
9:50 AM - Cindy Rarick, Laurie Rinker
10:00 AM - Christa Johnson, Val Skinner
10:10 AM - Sherri Turner, Danielle Ammaccapane
10:20 AM - Liselotte Neumann, Lorie Kane
10:30 AM - Jan Stephenson, Nancy Scranton
10:40 AM - Hollis Stacy, JoAnne Carner
10:50 AM - Michele Redman, Rosie Jones
11:00 AM - Pat Bradley, Nancy Lopez
11:10 AM - Beth Daniel, Laura Davies


Topics: Legends Tour, Press Release

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers