Michigan State University’s Caroline Powers recipient of 2013 Dinah Shore Trophy

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., May 24, 2013 - Caroline Powers of Michigan State University has been selected as the recipient of the 2013 Dinah Shore Trophy Award. Powers was presented the award during the annual National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) Division I Women’s Collegiate Golf Awards Banquet which took place Friday, May 24th in Athens, Ga.

The Dinah Shore Trophy Award, which is administered by the LPGA Foundation, recognizes a female collegiate golfer who excels in both academics (at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale) and athletics – playing in at least 50 percent of the team’s scheduled events – while maintaining a 78.00 or less scoring average. The nominees must also demonstrate outstanding leadership skills and community service.

During her term as President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Powers has participated in numerous events throughout the Greater Lansing Area and was recently awarded the prestigious Gwendolyn Norrell Community Service & Leadership Award, which is awarded to the student-athlete at Michigan State University who exemplifies the goals of the PACT (Putting Athletes and Community Together) program.

Aside from her academic and community outreach accolades, Powers has excelled on the links and was recently named the 2013 Big Ten Player of the Year. In addition, Powers is a three-time First Team All-Big Ten selection and has recorded three wins while at Michigan State University. She is also a two-time recipient of the George Alderton Award (Michigan State’s Female Athlete of the Year).

The Dinah Shore Trophy Award is a cooperative effort among The LPGA Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) organization and the Kraft Nabisco Championship - one of the LPGA's four major championships and the largest contributor to the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund.As part of the Dinah Shore Trophy Award, Michigan State University’s women's golf program will also receive a $10,000 grant.

Past winners of this prestigious award include: University of California graduate Pia Halbig (2011), University of Central Florida alum and current Symetra Tour member Katie Detlefsen (2010), Duke University grad and LPGA Tour player Amanda Blumenherst (2008, 2009), University of Arkansas alumna and 2012 Rolex LPGA Player of the Year Stacy Lewis (2007), and the University of South Carolina's Erica Battle (2006).

The LPGA Foundation introduced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March of 1994 in honor of the late Dinah Shore, a graduate of Vanderbilt University and an honorary member of the LPGA and LPGA Tour Hall of Fame. Including this year's award, the Dinah Shore Trophy Award has contributed more than $154,000 to women's collegiate golf programs.

Topics: Press Release

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers