Kraft Nabisco Championship Storylines

Inbee Park
Photo Credit: Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

Inbee Park (L) of South Korea and her entourage take the traditional jump into Poppy's Pond following her victory in the final round of the Kraft Nabisco Championship at Mission Hills Country Club on April 7, 2013 in Rancho Mirage, California.

Park Tries to Continue Major dominance

Inbee Park returns this week to Mission Hills Country Club, the place where her magical major run began last year when she ran away from the field for her second career major title. It was the first of three straight major victories for the 25-year-old. By winning the first three majors of 2013, Park became just the fourth player in LPGA history to record three Major victories in the season and the first to do it since Pat Bradley accomplished the feat in 1986.


Lewis Looks to Add More Major Hardware

While Inbee Park captured the goling world with her Major streak to start the 2013 season, Sta- cy Lewis was able to end the streak and take home her second-career major at the RICOH British Open.

Lewis became a Rolex First-Time Winner at the 2011 Kraft Nabisco Championship and then added her second major title at St. Andrew’s. Lewis, who is sitting in fourth in the Race to the CME Globe, has recorded top-10 finishes in 16 of her past 17 events on Tour.


A Proud Tradtion Continues at Mission Hills

One of the most iconic venues in women’s golf will once again play host to one of the Tour’s premire events. Mission Hills has been an LPGA tradition since 1972 and is entering its 43rd year.

The event, which has been a major since 1983, holds the distinction of being the second oldest golf tournament continuously held at the same course, trailing only Augusta National and The Masters.


Who Will Take the Leap in 2014?

The most prominant tradtion of the Kraft Nabisco Championship is the winner’s post-round dive into Poppie’s Pond. Since 1988,  when Amy Alcott made the initial leap, 22 golfers have taken the plung into the famous pond.Every champion since 1994 has ended their day by joyously sub- merging themsleves in the water just off the 18th green at Mission Hills.


Nordqvist On a Roll

Anna Nordqvist waited nearly five years to get back in the winner’s circle on the LPGA Tour with her convincing  wire-to-wire victory at the Honda LPGA Thailand. Nordqvist’s second victory of the season didn’t take nearly as long, a mere 28 days after her victory in Thailand Nordqvist captured the Kia Classic title thanks to a pair of 67s on the weekend. With the victory in Carlsbad, Nordqvist joined Karrie Webb as players with multiple wins in 2014.


International Crown Field Set

Pool "A" Pool " B"
1. United States 32 2. South Korea 33
  Stacy Lewis 3   Inbee Park 1
  Paula Creamer 8   So Yeon Ryu 6
  Lexi Thompson 9   Na Yeon Choi 11
  Cristie Kerr 12   I.K. Kim 15
4. Thailand 230 3. Japan 131
  Pornanong Phatlum 30   Mika Miyazato 27
  Ariya Jutanugarn 34   Ai Miyazato 31
  Moriya Jutanugarn 80   Sakura Yokomine 36
  Onnarin Sattayabanphot 86   Rikako Morita 37
5. Spain 236 6. Sweden 318
  Azahara Munoz 19   Anna Nordqvist 10
  Beatriz Recari 23   Caroline Hedwall 24
  Carlota Ciganda 45   Pernilla Lindberg 112
  Belen Mozo 149   Mikaela Parmlid 172
8. Australia 360 7. Chinese Taipei 351
  Karrie Webb 5   Yani Tseng 46
  Katherine Kirk 110   Teresa Lu 48
  Minjee Lee 115   Candie Kung 97
  Lindsey Wright 130   Hsuan-Yu Yao 160


April 3-6
Kraft Nabisco Championship Mission Hills Country Club Dinah Shore Tournament Course Rancho Mirage, Calif.

Field: 112 (102 professionals, 10 amateurs)
Par: 72
Yardage: 6,738
Purse: $2,000,000
Winner:  $300,000
Defending Champion: Inbee Park

TV Times
Golf Channel
April 3                                 12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
April 3                                   6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
April 4                                 12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
April 4                                   6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
April 5                                   5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
April 6                                   5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
All times listed are Eastern

2014 LPGA Tour Rookies (3) Lydia Ko             Mirim Lee Line Vedel

Sponsor Invitations (9)
Brooke Henderson (a)   Nelly Korda (a) Allison Lee (a)               Minjee Lee (a)
Su-Hyon Oh (a)                     Annie Park (a) Ashlyn Ramsey (a)       Emma Talley (a) Angel Yin (a)

Rolex Rankings  Top 10: 10/10
Top 20: 20/20

2014 LPGA Official Money List  Top 10: 10/10
Top 20: 20/20

Past Champions (since it became a major)

1983 Amy Alcott   1994 Donna Andrews   2005 Annika Sorenstam
1984 Juli Inkster   1995 Nanci Bowen   2006 Karrie Webb
1985 Alice Miller   1996 Patty Sheehan   2007 Morgan Pressel
1986 Pat Bradley   1997 Betsy King   2008 Lorena Ochoa
1987 Betsy King   1998 Pat Hurst   2009 Brittany Lincicome
1988 Amy Alcott   1999 Dottie Pepper   2010 Yani Tseng
1989 Juli Inkster   2000 Karrie Webb   2011 Stacy Lewis
1990 Betsy King   2001 Annika Sorenstam   2012 Sun Young Yoo
1991 Amy Alcott   2002 Annika Sorenstam   2013 Inbee Park
1992 Dottie Pepper   2003 Patricia Meunier-Lebouc      
1993 Helen Alfredsson   2004 Grace Park      



Tuesday, April 1
Time Event Location
12:45 p.m. International Crown Press Conference Media Center
1:45 p.m. Karrie Webb Press Conference Media Center
2:00 p.m. Stacy Lewis Press Conference Media Center
2:20 p.m. Paula Creamer Press Conference Media Center
2:40 p.m. Lydia Ko Press Conference Media Center
3:00 p.m. Michelle Wie Press Conference Media Center
Wednesday, April 2
Time Event Location
10:00 a.m. Juli Inkster Press Conference Media Center
1:10 p.m. Inbee Park Press Conference Media Center
1:30 p.m. Anna Nordqvist Press Conference Media Center
2:30 p.m. Press Conference with Rolex, Mike Whan & Annika Sorenstam Media Center

* All times are Pacific


Topics: ANA Inspiration, Storylines

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers