LPGA LOTTE Championship Presented by J Golf Storylines

Photo Credit: Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

LPGA LOTTE Championship Presented by J Golf at the Ko Olina Golf Club


Hawaii native Michelle Wie will be in the field this week looking to improve on a runner-up finish at the Kraft Nabisco Championship with a win in front of her hometown fans.

Wie is playing some of the best golf of her career and has finished in the top-25 in each of her last 11 events with 5 top-10s during the stretch. In the 2014 season, Wie has finished no worse than 16th with three top-10s in six events played.

Wie, who is looking for her first win since 2010, has struggled in this event in the past missing the cut in 2012 and finishing tied for 28th in 2013.


Lizette Salas will look for her first-career win at the site of her first-career runner-up finish this week.

Last season, Salas fired an impressive final-round 62 to come from five-shots back and force a playoff with Suzann Pettersen before eventually falling in the first hole of sudden-death. The 62 was the low final round of the 2013 season and lowest of Salas’ career.

Salas has had a strong start to her 2014 campaign with a pair of top-5 finishes in six events including a runner-up showing at the Kia Classic.


Former Rolex World No. 1 Ai Miyazato will look to recapture some of her magic as she returns to the site of her last victory, the 2012 LPGA LOTTE Championship presented by J Golf.

The course seems to fit Miyazato’s eye as she is the only player who has finished in the top-10 in each of the two events played at Ko Olina Golf Club with the win in 2012 and a tie for 6th last season.


Inbee Park, the Rolex No. 1 ranked player for the past 52 weeks, has had an impressive start to her 2014 campaign, with four top-10 finishes in the five events she has played, but has yet to reach the winners circle.

Park will look to change that this week on a course where she finished T4 last season and T12 at the inaugural event in 2012.


Anna Nordqvist waited nearly five years to get back in the winner’s circle on the LPGA Tour with her convincing  wire-to-wire victory at the Honda LPGA Thailand. Nordqvist’s second victory of the season didn’t take nearly as long as a mere 28 days after her victory in Thailand. Nordqvist captured the Kia Classic title thanks to a pair of 67s on the weekend. With the victory in Carlsbad, Nordqvist joined Karrie Webb as players with multiple wins in 2014.


This week’s LPGA LOTTE Championship presented by J Golf will feature 21 LPGA rookies in the field, the most at any event so far this season. Lydia Ko and Mirim Lee, a pair of rookies who are in the field this week, have made a major impact in 2014 as they rank 12th and 24th respectively on this season’s Money List.

Eighteen-year old professional Ariya Jutanugarn Sunday qualified this week (+2, 74) and will be another youngster looking to make some noise at Ko Olina. The Thai teen finished third at last year’s event, four shots out of the playoff with Pettersen and Salas. It will be her third LPGA Tour appearance this season after missing the cut in Australia and finishing T51 at the Honda LPGA Thailand.


The LPGA LOTTE Championship presented by J Golf will mark the first event on the LPGA since the season’s first major, the Kraft Nabisco Championship. Seven of the top-10 finishers at Mission Hills are in the field this week including runner-up Michelle Wie.



April 16-19
LPGA LOTTE Championship Presented by J Golf
Ko Olina Golf Club Kapolei, Oahu, Hawaii

Field: 144 (143 professionals, 1 amateur)
Par: 72
Yardage: 6,383
Purse: $1,700,000
Winner: $255,000
Defending Champion: Suzann Pettersen

TV Times

Golf Channel
April 16                 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
April 17                 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
April 18                 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
April 19                 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
All times listed are Eastern


Past Champions

2013   Suzann Pettersen
2012   Ai Miyazato

2014 LPGA Tour Rookies (21)

Anya Alvarez Amy Anderson
Dottie Ardina Lindy Duncan
Jaye Marie Green Megan Grehan
Emma Jandel Kim Kaufman
Stacey Keating Jennifer Kirby
Lydia Ko Mirim Lee
Xi Yu Lin Megan McChrystal
Giulia Molinaro Erica Popson
Paula Reto Natalie Sheary
Kelly Tan Line Vendel
Caroline Westrup  


Sponsor Invitations (5)
Ha Na Jang                           
Hyun Soo Kim
Hyo Joo Kim
Sei Young Kim                       
So Young Lee (a)

Qualifiers (2)

Ariya Jutanugarn (+2, 74)
Rachel Rohanna (+2, 74)


Rolex Rankings  Top 10: 6/10

Top 20: 14/20


2014 LPGA Official Money List  Top 10: 6/10

Top 20: 15/20



Tuesday, April 15
Time Event Location
4:00 p.m. Official Tournament Press Conference & Photo Call 
Inbee Park, Lydia Ko, Paula Creamer, Anna Nordqvist, Michelle Wie
Media Center

* All times are Hawaii-Aleutian

Topics: Storylines, LPGA Lotte Championship

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers