University of Arkansas’ Emily Tubert Named the Recipient of the 2014 Dinah Shore Trophy

DAYTONA  BEACH, FLORIDA, May 24, 2014 – Emily Tubert of the University of Arkansas Razorbacks has been selected as the recipient of the 2014 Dinah Shore Trophy. Tubert was presented the award during the annual National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA)  Division I NCAA Championship award dinner, which took place Friday, May 23rd in Tulsa, Okla.

Administered by the LPGA Foundation, the Dinah Shore Trophy Award recognizes female collegiate golfers who excel in both academics (3.2 on a 4.0 scale) and athletics – playing in at least 50 percent of the team’s scheduled events – while maintaining a 78.00 or less scoring average. In addition, nominees must demonstrate outstanding leadership skills and community service.

A former President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Tubert has devoted numerous hours to community service events including nearly 40 hours of community service during her senior year. Some of her community service hours consisted of: speaking to freshman, reading to local elementary schools, and assisting with 5k runs. Tubert graduated this year from the University of Arkansas with a degree in Broadcast Journalism and a 3.77 grade point average. 

Aside from excelling in the classroom and through community service, Tubert is accomplished on the course as well. Tubert recently helped the Razorbacks achieve a program-best No. 4 ranking on and in NGCA polls. Over the course of her career at the University of Arkansas, Tubert was a four-time All-SEC First-Team Selection, SEC Co-Freshman of the Year, member of the SEC All-Freshman Team, a three-time NGCA All-Scholar Team member and has been included on the Academic Honor Roll every semester.

The Dinah Shore Trophy Award is a joint effort between The LPGA Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) organization and the Kraft Nabisco Championship - one of the LPGA's four major championships and the largest contributor to the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund. As part of the Dinah Shore Trophy Award, a $10,000 grant will be awarded to the University of Arkansas women’s golf program.

Former winners of this prestigious award include: Michigan State University alum Caroline Powers (2013), North Dakota State’s Amy Anderson (2012), University of California graduate Pia Halbig (2011), University of Central Florida alum and current Symetra Tour member Katie Detlefsen (2010), Duke University grad and LPGA Tour player Amanda Blumenherst (2008, 2009), University of Arkansas alumna and 2012 Rolex LPGA Player of the Year Stacy Lewis (2007), and the University of South Carolina's Erica Battle (2006).

The LPGA Foundation announced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March of 1994 in honor of the late Dinah Shore, Vanderbilt University graduate and an honorary member of the LPGA and LPGA Tour Hall of Fame. The Dinah Shore Trophy Award has contributed more than $164,000 to women's collegiate golf programs including this year. 

Topics: Scholarships, Press Release

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers