Rolex Player of the Year showdown enters final day

Rolex Player of the Year showdown enters final day with history on the line
Ochoa, Shin battle for coveted award; McPherson shoots for first victory;
Watch the action live on Golf Channel 3-5 p.m. EST 

RICHMOND, Texas, Nov. 23, 2009 – The LPGA record books may have a new page added today when all is said and done at the LPGA Tour Championship Presented by Rolex.  Rookie South Korean Jiyai Shin and world number one Lorena Ochoa are in a down-to-the-wire race for the Rolex Player of the Year award at the season-ending event's Monday finish.

Shin is in position to secure the “Big Three” LPGA awards: Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year, Rolex Player of the Year and top honors on the LPGA Official Money List.  In doing so, she would be the first player since LPGA and World Golf Halls of Fame member Nancy Lopez to accomplish the feat.  The 21-year-old is also the first South Korean in Tour history to top the LPGA Official Money List and would be the first South Korean to earn Rolex Player of the Year honors.

Viewers can watch the coverage live on Golf Channel from 3-5 p.m. EST/2-4 p.m. local time.  Golf Channel will stay with the telecast through the conclusion of the event. 

Ochoa, who trails Shin by one stroke and leader Kristy McPherson by two entering the final round, is in search of her fourth-consecutive Rolex Player of the Year award.  She also is likely to lock up her fourth-consecutive Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average, a feat last accomplished by Kathy Whitworth (1969-72).  Ochoa and Shin are tied for the most victories on Tour this season with three apiece.

Shin will play in Monday's final group alongside second-round leader Kristy McPherson (-8, 136) and McDonald's LPGA Championship Presented by Coca-Cola winner Anna Nordqvist (-6, 138).  Ochoa will be in the second-to-last group of the day.

Third-year Tour member McPherson begins the final round with the lead and is searching to become the eighth Rolex First-Time Winner of the 2009 season.  McPherson, a member of the victorious U.S. Solheim Cup team, has banked a career-best $728,111 this season.  She recorded top 10 finishes in three of the four major championships including a tie for second at the Kraft Nabisco Championship.


Pos.     Player                          Current points            To overtake Shin's 156 points

1.         Jiyai Shin                             156

2.         Lorena Ochoa                     148                        needs a 3rd place finish

3.         Cristie Kerr                         127                        needs a win

Rolex Player of the Year points breakdown

  1. 30
  2. 12
  3. 9
  4. 7
  5. 6
  6. 5
  7. 4
  8. 3
  9. 2
  10. 1

Topics: Press Release, Shin, Jiyai, Ochoa, Lorena

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers