News and Notes for the week of March 1, 2010

Miyazato wins HSBC Women's Champions

First player since 1966 to win consecutive season-opening events

SINGAPORE, Singapore, Feb. 28, 2010 - Japan's Ai Miyazato shot 69 in the final round of the third-annual HSBC Women's Champions to win the second-consecutive event of the 2010 LPGA season. The 24-year-old's 72-hole tally of 10-under-par 278 was two shots better than Cristie Kerr, who finished alone in second at 8-under-par 280. With the victory, Miyazato becomes the first player since LPGA Founder Marilynn Smith in 1966, a span of 44 years, to win consecutive season-opening events.

"I feel honored to be among those great winners," Miyazato said of past HSBC winners Lorena Ochoa and Jiyai Shin. "This is obviously a great start for me, but the LPGA is such a tough Tour, and it's also very tough to keep winning."

Nine players were tied for the lead early in the day following bogies at one and two by co-leaders Miyazato and Juli Inkster. In the end, Miyazato's greatest challenge came from 12-time winner Cristie Kerr, who was 6-under-par on the day through 16 holes with a share of the lead. Errant drives at 17 and 18 led to bogies for Kerr, who dropped back into second, allowing Miyazato to follow two groups behind with easy pars at 17 and 18 to claim her third LPGA title in the past six months.

Miyazato came from six shots back to win last week's Honda PTT LPGA Thailand with a final-round 63. Following the victory, she jumped to Rolex Rankings No. 4, up from eighth. Miyazato, who will play next week at the Daikin Orchid Ladies on the LPGA of Japan (JLPGA), now leads the money list with $390,000.

Four players tied for third place at 7-under-pra 281, including defending champion Jiyai Shin, Suzann Pettersen, Yani Tseng and Song-Hee Kim.

Singapore winners

In three years as a Tour event, the HSBC Women's Champions has lived up to it's name. In 2008, Rolex Rankings No. 1

Lorena Ochoa won the inaugural HSBC Women's Champions by 11 shots. Last year, Jiyai Shin, who went on to earn 2009 Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year honors and climb to Rolex Rankings No. 2, overcame a six-shot deficit to win the Singapore-based event. This season, Rolex Rankings No. 4 Ai Miyazato took home the hardware with two-shot win for her second-consecutive LPGA victory. The 63-player field included 54 of the top 55 players in the world.

Back-to-back victories in the first two official events of the season

Marilynn Smith - 1966
(Kathy Whitworth won an unofficial Tour event in Venezuela to begin the season)
St. Petersburg Women's Open Louise Suggs Delray Beach Invitational
Mickey Wright - 1963
Sea Island Women's Invitational
St. Petersburg Women's Open
Louise Suggs - 1952
Jacksonville Open
Tampa Open
Babe Zaharias - 1951
Ponte Vedra Beach Women's Open
Tampa Women's Open

Inkster falls short in bid to become oldest winner

LPGA Tour and World Golf Hall of Famer Juli Inkster fell short in her bid to become the Tour's oldest winner on Sunday at the HSBC Women's Champions. The 49-year-old carded six bogies and four birdies for a final-round 2-over-par 74, dropping her into to tie for ninth at 5-under-par 283 with five others. Inkster, whose last victory came at the 2006 Safeway Classic Presented by Pepsi, entered the final round as co-leader with eventual champ Ai Miyazato. She has previously won 13 of the 29 times she entered the final round with the lead.

In-Kyung Kim cards third
par 4 eagle of the year

I.K. Kim carded her third par-4 eagle of the year on Sunday at the HSBC Women's Champions. The 21-year-old used a 4-hybrid from 166 yards on the 10th hole. She finished the week at 6-under-par 282 in a tie for seventh. Last week, Kim eagled two par-4's at Siam Country Club's Old Course and finished tied for 11th at the Honda PTT LPGA Thailand.

Of note…

Defending champ Jiyai Shin carded a 68 in the final round to tie for third, while inaugural champ Lorena Ochoa tied for 38th… Suzann Pettersen is second on the LPGA Official Money List after a runner-up finish at the Honda PTT LPGA Thailand and a tie for third at the HSBC Women's Champions… 2008 Duramed FUTURES Tour Player of the Year Vicky Hurst recorded a career-best tie for third this week…

Topics: News and Notes

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers