Whitworth receives 2010 Women's Western Woman of Distinction Award

Kathy Whitworth tapped to Receive 2010 Woman of Distinction Award

Glencoe, Ill. September 30, 2010 - The Women’s Western Golf Association established the “Woman of Distinction” award in 1994 and is given to women who have displayed outstanding leadership qualities with involvement and commitment to the game. The honoree shall have participated in or won a Women’s Western tournament. Kathy Whitworth meets all that criteria – and then some!

At the WWGA’s Annual Meeting held at Lake Shore Country Club in Glencoe, Ill., Whitworth was presented with the Award that will have her name inscribed on the trophy along with past professional honorees including Patty Berg, Louise Suggs, Peggy Kirk Bell, Nancy Lopez, Betty Jameson, Wiffi Smith and most recently (2008) Carol Mann. Amateur recipients include: June Beebe Atwood, Alice Dye, Ann Upchurch, Judy Bell, Carol Semple Thompson and Co McArthur. The award is given biennially.

When talking about women’s golf there’s a name that stands out above the rest, an icon, a legend, that name is Kathy Whitworth. Kathy was born in Texas but spent most of her childhood in New Mexico. She started playing golf at age 15 – late by some standards. She won the New Mexico State Amateur twice and attended college in Odessa, Tex. before turning Professional in 1958. It would take her four years to get her first LPGA win but once it happened there was no stopping and her career took off with flying colors.

She holds the record for Tour victories with the magic number of 88, more than any golfer (man or woman) on any individual Tour. Kathy won at least one tournament each and every year from 1962 through 1978 with many big seasons in the mix having as many as 10 wins in one year! Some of her major Championships include:

  • LPGA Championship in 1967, 1971 and 1975
  • Titleholders in 1965 and 1966
  • Women’s Western Open in 1967

Some of Kathy’s Awards and Honors include:

  • She is a Member of the World Golf Hall of Fame
  • A member of the LPGA Golf Hall of Fame
  • An 8-time LPGA Tour Money leader
  • 7-time LPGA Vare Trophy winner (that’s given for scoring)
  • 7-time LPGA ‘Player of the Year’ winner
  • Associated Press ‘Athlete of the Year’ – winning that award twice
  • She served three terms as President of the LPGA
  • Was the first Captain of the U. S. Solheim Cup
  • She’s a Member of the Women’s Sports Foundation Hall of Fame

After her LPGA Tour career ended, Kathy continued playing in senior events and has become a highly respected teacher of the game. Kathy continues to inspire golfers of all ages through her dedication to the sport. Each year she holds the KATHY WHITWORTH INVITATIONAL which benefits the ‘Boys & Girls Club of Greater Fort Worth,’ an organization serving more than 9,000 disadvantaged youths.

The Women’s Western Golf Association recognizes a noteworthy group of women who have helped shape the game.

Topics: Press Release, Whitworth, Kathy

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers