Tseng named GWAA Female Player of the Year

HOUSTON (December 29, 2011) –  Yani Tseng was named 2011 Female Player of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America.

It is the second for Tseng and Lehman. She will be honored at the GWAA’s Annual Awards Dinner April 4, 2012 in Augusta, Ga. Tseng received 95 percent of the vote for Female POY (194) to two percent for Stacy Lewis (5). Suzann Pettersen (2) and Lexi Thompson (1) also received votes.

Tseng dominated women’s golf with a dozen wins, including two more majors – the LPGA Championship and the Women’s British Open – to win her second consecutive GWAA POY award. Tseng  became the youngest player to win five majors, led the LPGA in scoring and money and won the Rolex Player of the Year award. She had 14 top 10s and won almost double the amount of money ($2.921 million) as second-place Cristie Kerr ($1.47 million).

The GWAA, founded in 1946, takes an active role in protecting the interests of all golf journalists, works closely with all of golf’s major governing bodies and the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Topics: Tseng, Yani

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers