

The LPGA Teaching and Club Professionals: A History The 1980s

A Growing Membership

The 1980s were years of substantial growth for the LPGA Teaching Division. Membership doubled, and in August of 1990, hit the 500 mark, thanks partly to Title IX, which provided women equal access to athletic scholarships and teams in the nation's schools and colleges.



National Teaching Seminars began to be conducted on a bi-annual schedule, alternating with the **National Championship**, which began in 1983. These two events provided a means by which the membership could meet on a national scale.







In 1984, LPGA National President, **Annette Thompson**, appointed **Dr. Betsy Clark** as
National Education Chairperson. Clark, who was
then the Director of Instruction at Graysburg Hills
Golf Course in Tennessee, was charged with the
responsibility of updating and expanding the
written tests for LPGA member certification. This
prompted suggestions to improve the Applicant's
Study Kit materials. Changes were incorporated
into the second revision, which was completed in
1985.



Shirley Spork with Dr. Betsy Clark

Under Thompson's leadership, a group insurance program was also instituted, a National Treasury was established, and a national newsletter provided information of interest to members in all LPGA sections.

The Teaching Committee also created "new" **LPGA Teaching Schools**, led by **Lynn Marriott**, which provided incoming members and current members the opportunity to further their knowledge and increase their teaching skills. These schools emphasized better understanding of theories of motor learning, the acquisition of physical skills and sports psychology as well as skills specific to teaching and learning golf. Among the curriculum were topics such as:



- "How to Give Playing Lessons"
- "Laws, Principles and Preferences"
- "How to Make Correct Rulings on the Course," and
- "Marketing Yourself as a Professional."

In 1986, **Nell Frewin** was elected National President and Dr. Clark was appointed to her second term as Education Chairperson. **Kerry Graham** was appointed as Co-chairperson. Graham assisted with the much-needed revisions to the Practical Teacher Evaluations.

By October, 1986, it became evident that the demands of the education program had grown enough that a committee was necessary. Consequently, the Section Presidents formed an Education Committee comprised of selected Area Representatives from each section.



The purpose of the Education Committee was to enhance educational opportunities and to serve as an additional feedback system to the Teaching Committee. The education Committee serving the term 1986-1990 consisted of:

Pat Lange – Central Bev Miller – Midwest Lorraine Klippel – Northeast Jackie Williams – Southeast Shirley Spork – Western





Lorraine Klippel

Pat Lange

The First LPGA T&CP National Championship

In 1983, the first **National Teaching Division Championship** was held at Placid Lakes Golf Club in Lake Placid, Florida. The purse money, raised mostly by National President **Nell Frewin** and host professional **Sally Slater Collins** going door-to-door in



Nell Frewin



Sally Slater Collins

the surrounding communities, was \$10,000. (LPGA Commissioner **John Laupheimer** and his staff had secured some sponsorship monies from Square Two and Mercedes Benz and negotiated for giveaway merchandise from Foot Joy, La Mode and Dunlop.)

The overall Champion of this first National Championship was **H.B. Duntz Mac-Arthur**. **Peggy Kirk Bell** won the Senior Division, and **DeDe Owens**, partnered with **Bell**, won the Pro-Pro Division.



H.B. Duntz MacArthur



Peggy Kirk Bell (left)



Dr. Dede Owens

The National Championship was held every two years, alternating with Section Championships, until 1993, when the Championship became a yearly event.

The LPGA T&CP National Championship - 1980s

Date	Championship Division	Senior Division	Tournament Site
1983	HB Duntz-MacArthur	Peggy Kirk Bell	Placid Lakes GC; Lake Placid, Fla.
1985	Sharon Miller	Barbara Romack	Pine Knob GC; Clarkston, Mich.
1987	Kelley Spooner	Patricia Kimball	Stardust CC; San Diego, Calif.
1989	Kathy Kostas	Linda Maurer	Plantation G&C Club; Venice, Fla.

The Professional and Coach of the Year Awards

In 1980 and 1981 respectively, the LPGA established two new annual awards: the LPGA Professional of the Year and the LPGA Coach of the Year.



The LPGA Professional of the Year Award is presented annually to a woman golf professional who is involved directly in the entire golf operation.

The recipient of the first LPGA Professional of the Year Award was **Nancy Gammon**.

The LPGA Coach of the Year Award is presented annually to a woman golf professional who is actively engaged in the teaching and/or coaching of golf at the college, university or high school level.

The recipient of the first Coach of the Year award was Mary Dagraedt.



LPGA Professional of the Year Award Winners – 1980s

1980	Nancy Gammon
1981	Peggy Kirk Bell
1982	Nell Frewin
1983	Lorraine Klippel
1984	Mary Dagraedt
1985	Bobbie Stewart
1986	Margo Walden
1987	Becky Sauers
1988	Kathy Murphy
1989	Pat Lange

LPGA Coach of the Year Award Winners – 1980s

1981	Mary Dagraedt	Miami-Dade Community College
1982	Ann Casey Johnstone	Stephens College
1983	Barbara B. Smith	Longwood College
1984	Patricia Weis	University of Texas
1985	Diane Thomason	University of Iowa
1986	Linda Vollstedt	Arizona State University
1987	Mary Beth Nienhaus	Appleton West High School
1988	Jackie Steinmann	University of California, Los Angeles
1989	Barbara Smith	Longwood College

LPGA Teacher of the Year Award Winners – 1980s

1980	Betty Dodd
1981	Jane Read
1982	Barbara Romack
1983	Rina Ritson
1984	Shirley Spork
1985	Annette Thompson
1986	Barbara Crawford-O'Brien
1987	Linda Craft
1988	Judy Whitehouse
1989	Sharon Miller



The Ellen Griffin Rolex Award

In 1989, the LPGA established the **Ellen Griffin Rolex Award**. Ellen Griffin was considered by many to be the best-known woman golf teacher in American history. Griffin taught near Greensboro, NC, at "The Farm." She was recognized for her outstanding contributions to the game many times, including the 1970 National Golf Foundation's Joe Graffis Award.

The award is given annually to a male or female golf teacher who has done the following:

- Demonstrated in their teaching, the same spirit, love and dedication as Ellen did to the golf student, teaching skills and the game of golf; and
- Made a major contribution to the teaching of golf.





By honoring teachers who dedicate their life to this purpose, the LPGA honors Ellen Griffin and encourages golf teachers to seek the same spirit and ideals.

The first recipient of the Ellen Griffin Rolex Award was **Peggy Kirk Bell**.



LPGA Teaching Division Past National Presidents – 1980s

Scherry Allison 1976-80



Annette Thompson 1981-85



Nell Frewin 1986-87



Kerry Graham 1988-93



