Midwest Section Championship History

2012 Midwest Section Championship

Lisa Grimes (Alexandria, MN) and Diane Daugherty (Carbondale, Ill.) successfully defended their titles during this year’s LPGA Midwest Section Championship, hosted at the beautiful Champions Golf Course in Columbus, Oh..

Grimes fired two back-to-back rounds of 72 to solidify her lead in the Championship Division, earning an exemption into the field of the 2013 Wegmans LPGA Championship and edging out runner-up Hillery Wilson (78-78=156) of Farmington, Ark.

Diane Daugherty held on to her first-round lead, carding two back-to-back rounds of 76 to regain her Senior Division Champion title. Senior Division runner-up was Midwest Section Championship host and 2012 LPGA Midwest Section Professional of the Year, Fran Kocsis, who finished with scores of 79-79=158.  Results>>

2011 Midwest Section Championship

Lisa Grimes of Alexandria, MN, shot a consistent 74-74=148 to win the Championship title of the Midwest Section Championship by a 14 stroke margin over second place winner, Margie Muzik of Naperville, IL.

Diane Daugherty (77-73=150) of Naperville, IL, captured the Senior Division title. Results>>

2010 Midwest Section Championship

Julie Hennessey of Lewiston, Minn., overcame soggy conditions and a three-way sudden death playoff to capture the Midwest Section Championship title, earning both a $3,000 payout and an exemption into the 2011 LPGA Championship.

Carbondale, Ill., native, Diane Daugherty, took home her second Senior Division win within three years and earned $2,000 with her victory.  Final Results>>

2009 Midwest Section Championship

In an effort to avoid playing in bad weather for their second round, the competitors in this year's LPGA T&CP Midwest Section Championship made a tough decision: all 15 women played both of their rounds in one day! Lisa Grimes from Alexandrea, Minn., took home the first-place trophy in the Championship Division with a score of 153 (76, 77).

Senior Division winner Fran Koscis scored a 163 (83, 80).

Final Results>>

2008 Midwest Section Championship

BATAVIA, OHIO – The 2008 LPGA Midwest Section Championship at Elks Run Golf Course concludes with Jamie Fischer of Gurnee, Ill., winning the championship division with a 139 (72-67) making her the four time consecutive champion. Faith Egli of Mogadore, Ill. takes second spot with a 148 (75-73). Diane Daugherty of Carbondale, Ill. wins the senior division with a 145 (74-71).

2007 Midwest Section Championship

Fischer wins 2007 LPGA Midwest Section Championship. 
LPGA Teaching and Club Professional (T&CP) Jamie Fischer (77-76=153) claimed the 2007 LPGA Midwest Section T&CP Championship on the fifth hole of a sudden-death playoff against Lisa Grimes (76-66=153) at Town & Country Club in St. Paul, Minn.  With the win, Fischer claimed a $1,500 winner's check, while Grimes' runner-up check was $1,200. 

Fran Kocsis of Worthington, Ohio, captured the Senior Division title with a final score of 175 (90-85). Laurel Dieken took second place in the Senior Division.

With the Championship Division victory, Fischer rounds out the five spots in the 2008 McDonald's LPGA Championship Presented by Coca-Cola reserved for victors of the SkyCaddie® LPGA T&CP National Championship and four section championships.  Fischer will be joined by 2007 SkyCaddie® LPGA T&CP National Championship winner Lisa DePaulo; Southeast Section champion Annette DeLuca; Northeast Section champion Wendy Modic; and Midwest Section champion Marci Bozarth.

2006 Midwest Section Championship

ST. LOUIS, MO. – Jamie Fischer of Gurnee, Ill. won the 2006 LPGA T&CP Midwest Section Championship (71-76=147) at Pevely Farms Golf Club.

Diane Daugherty of Carbondale, Ill. captured the senior division title.

2005 Midwest Section Championship presented by Mastercard

Jamie Fischer of Gurnee, Ill. won the 2005 LPGA T&CP Midwest Section Championship presented by MasterCard (76-77=153) in a sudden death playoff with Stephanie Edwards of Middletown, Ohio. For the fourth consecutive year, Joyce Kazmierski of Indianapolis, Ind. captured the senior division champion title (79-80=159).

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers