LPGA Teaching and Club Professionals Announce 2012 Section “Of the Year” Award Winners

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - The Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) Teaching and Club Professional (T&CP) membership has selected its annual section award winners for Teacher, Professional and Coach of the Year. Also, new in 2012 is an annual Junior Golf Achievement award recognizing a professional who is committed to and excels in the area of golf for juniors.

The LPGA T&CP membership's five sections—Central, Midwest, Northeast, Southeast and Western—annually select winners in each of the three categories.

The LPGA T&CP National Awards Selection Committee will select the overall national award winner in each category from among the section award winners.  The national winners will be announced in the coming weeks.

The 2012 LPGA T&CP section award winners are as follows:
Central Section  
Teacher of the Year Deb Vangellow, Sweetwater Country Club, Sugarland, TX
Coach of the Year Shelly Liddick, Bellevue University, Bellevue, NE
Professional of the Year Dr. Debbie Crews, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
Junior Golf Leadership
Kay Cornelius, Ocotillo Golf Resort, Chandler, AZ
Midwest Section  
Teacher of the Year Angela Ause, Les Bolstad Golf Course, St. Paul, MN
Coach of the Year Therese Hession, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
Professional of the Year Fran Kocsis, Champions Golf Course, Columbus, OH
Junior Golf Leadership
Louise Ball, Tennessee Golf Academy, Knoxville, TN
Northeast Section  
Teacher of the Year Rebecca Dengler, Ed Oliver Golf Club, Wilmington, DE
Coach of the Year Kim Lewellen, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
Professional of the Year Linda Nevatt, The ACE Club, Lafayette Hill, PA
Junior Golf Leadership Lynne Hunter, Kenwood Golf and Country Club, Bethesda, MD
Southeast Section  
Teacher of the Year Oneda Castillo, Women In Golf Foundation, Fayetteville, GA
Coach of the Year Christa Teno, Seminole Community College, Mims, FL
Professional of the Year Jane Broderick, PGA National Golf Club, Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Junior Golf Leadership Nicole Weller, The Landings Club, Savannah, GA
Western Section  
Teacher of the Year Alison Curdt, Sherwood Country Club, Thousand Oaks, CA
Coach of the Year Nancy McDaniel, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
Professional of the Year Patti Marquis, Links Golf Club, Post Falls, ID
Junior Golf Leadership
Jennifer Alexander, Crystal Springs Golf Course, Burlingame, CA

About the LPGA Teaching and Club Professionals
The LPGA Teaching and Club Professional (T&CP) membership, founded in 1959, boasts the largest membership of women golf professionals in the world. LPGA T&CP members are certified as golf instructors, coaches and business managers through a comprehensive curriculum designed to meet the changing needs of the golfing public.
More than 1,400 strong, LPGA T&CP members are dedicated to the advancement of golf and serve throughout the golf industry as head professionals, assistant professionals, teaching professionals, directors of golf, owners of golf schools and facilities, golf administrators, college and high school coaches and more.
LPGA T&CP members support the LPGA’s various grassroots programs that were created to involve women and youth in golf as well as contribute to the overall growth of the sport. These programs include LPGA-USGA Girls Golf, LPGA Tour Junior Clinics, the LPGA Front Row Experience Presented by Volvik, and LPGA Golf Clinics for Women.
The LPGA is headquartered in Daytona Beach, Fla.  For more information, log onto www.lpga.com
Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers