Karrie Webb


  • Hometown

    Ayr, Queensland, Australia

  • Year of Hall of Fame Induction


  • Total LPGA Tour Wins


  • Major Championships


  • LPGA Tour Awards

    1996 Louise Suggs Rookie of the Year, Two-time Rolex Player of the Year (1999, 2000), Three-time Vare Trophy recipient (1997, 1999, 2000)

  • World Golf Hall of Fame Induction


  • Bio

    Karrie Webb, from Ayr, Queensland, Australia, was a member of the Australian Amateur team in her junior golf days. She played in the 1994 Espirito Santo Trophy World Amateur Golf Team Championship the same year she won the Australian Women’s Amateur Stroke Play Championship. She then turned professional later that season.


    Webb started her career on the Ladies European Tour and Epson Tour. Prior to it becoming a major championship on the LPGA Tour, Webb won the 1995 AIG Women’s Open, becoming its youngest champion ever in her rookie season on the LET. She would become the 1995 LET Rookie of the Year thanks in part to the win. She joined the LPGA Tour in 1996 and went on to win her first Tour event in her second start at the HealthSouth Inaugural in 1996. She won three additional tournaments that year and earned Louise Suggs Rookie of the Year honors.


    Webb would go on to win a total of 41 times on the LPGA Tour, a tie for 10th with Babe Zaharias on the All-Time Wins List, including 10 major championships. She won her first major title at the 1999 du Maurier Classic, the same year she won her first of two Player of the Year titles. She would go on to win the Chevron Championship and U.S. Women’s Open in 2000, and after winning the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, she became the youngest winner of the LPGA Tour Career Grand Slam, and then earned the “Super Career Grand Slam” after winning the 2002 AIG Women’s Open. Her last victory came at the 2014 Cognizant Founders Cup, and she remains an active player on Tour. Webb has earned over $20 million in her career, which is 2nd all-time.


    Webb was officially inducted into the LPGA Hall of Fame through the points criteria and the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2005. Her other honors include being the 2000 GWAA Female Player of the Year (2000) and the 2016 LPGA Founders Award. In Australia, she was awarded the Centenary Medal in January 2001, appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in January 2010 and made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2018. In 2021, the Australian WPGA Championship was created, and the trophy was named in Webb’s honor (the Karrie Webb Cup); the inaugural competition was won by LPGA Tour Member Su Oh.