Loading, please wait...

The LPGA Central Section Marilynn Smith Service Award

The Marilynn Smith Service Award was established in 2012 by the LPGA Professionals Central Section in recognition of the unlimited and outstanding service, time and dedication demonstrated by Marilynn to the LPGA Central Section, the LPGA and the game of golf.

This annual award honors a Central Section member for her service in the spirit of Marilynn Smith.

About Marilynn Smith

One of 13 LPGA Founders, Smith earned the nickname "Miss Personality" on the LPGA Tour.  She served as president of the LPGA from 1958 through 1960.  During her term, she was instrumental in founding the teaching division in 1959 (now known as the LPGA Professionals) along with Shirley Spork, Betty Hicks and Barbara Rotvig.  

Smith is one of the games' great ambassadors.   She helps organize the all-women's Marilynn Smith Golf Classic, which benefits the Marilynn Smith Scholarship Fund.  In 1999, she established the Marilynn Smith Scholarship within The LPGA Foundation. 

Smith has traveled to all 50 U.S. states and 36 different countries and has conducted golf clinics during many of those visits.  She was the first female television commentator for a men's golf tournament (1973 U.S. Open and the Colonial), inducted into the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame in 1991 and the Texas Golf Hall of Fame in 1994, inducted into the Kansas University Sports Hall of Fame in 1999, the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame in 2000, and in 2005, inducted into the Wichita Sports Hall of Fame and the Wichita East High School Sports Hall of Fame.  In  2000, Smith was one of six inaugural inductees into the LPGA Professionals Hall of Fame, and in 2006, was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.  

Penny Zavichas, a Master Life member of the LPGA Professionals and a member of the LPGA Professionals Hall of Fame, was the recipient of the inaugural  Marilynn Smith Service Award.

2024  Susie Redman  
2023  Cori Matheson  
2022  Jill Mann Strite  
2021 Janet Darnell  
2020  Peggy Briggs  
2019  Courtney Mahon  
Janean Murphy
Marci Bozarth
Kristie Fowler
Tina Tombs
Marvol Barnard
2013 Peggy Gustafson
2012 Penny Zavichas Story>>