Rookie Watch at the Safeway Classic

Photo Credit: Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

LPGA Tour rookie So Yeon Ryu fired a final-round 9-under par 62 to win the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-I and become the fifth Rolex-First Time Winner this year. Currently leading the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year race, a win last week further extended Ryu’s lead to 403 points over Lexi Thompson and she is well on her way to becoming the eighth player from her country to win the award.

Ryu has finished in the top-10 eight times this season and has made the cut in all 15 events she's played. She first made a name for herself on the LPGA Tour when she defeated Hee Kyung Seo in a three-hole playoff at the 2011 U.S. Women's Open to earn her first LPGA Tour victory and her LPGA Tour card for the 2012 season.


Rank Player
1 So Yeon Ryu
2 Lexi Thompson
3 Mo Martin
4 Lizette Salas
5 Danielle Kang
6 Numa Gulyanamitta
View full points list >>  


There will be 21 rookies in the 144-player field teeing it up at the Safeway Classic Presented by Coca-Cola this week. Be sure to follow their progress. Leaderboard >>

LPGA Rookies in the Field:

  1. Lacey Agnew
  2. Karlin Beck
  3. Sandra Changkija
  4. Cydney Clanton
  5. Jacqui Concolino
  6. Kathleen Ekey
  7. Veronica Felibert
  8. Numa Gulyanamitta
  9. Katy Harris
  10. Danielle Kang
  11. Hanna Kang
  12. Stephanie Kono
  13. Min Seo Kwak
  14. Rebecca Lee-Bentham
  15. Mo Martin
  16. Sydnee Michaels
  17. Jane Rah
  18. So Yeon Ryu
  19. Lizette Salas
  20. Elisa Serramia
  21. Victoria Tanco
  22. Lexi Thompson
  23. Hannah Yun


Topics: Rookie Spotlight, Portland Classic, Ryu, So Yeon

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers