Finalists announced for the third-annual LPGA Global Media Awards Presented by Rolex

Finalists chosen in three written, four photography categories

Winners of all awards to be named during ceremony at the Evian Masters

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida, July 16, 2012 – The LPGA (Ladies Professional Golf Association) and the Evian Masters on Tuesday announced the finalists in three written and four photography categories for the third-annual LPGA Global Media Awards Presented by Rolex.

Two separate three-person, international voting panels, pared the submissions down to three finalists in each category. The written submissions were judged by distinguished journalists from the GWAA (Golf Writers Association of America) while professional photographers reviewed and selected the photography submissions. Submissions were accepted for material that was published between May 24, 2011 and May 21, 2012 (the day following the 2012 Sybase Match Play Championship). All of the finalists will be featured on beginning today.

In addition to the seven awards, two other awards will be handed out during the ceremony. A member of the media will be honored as the winner of the Rolex Award for Media Excellence for his or her long-time achievement in media coverage of women’s professional golf. That winner will be presented with a Rolex timepiece. Japanese journalist Reiko Takekawa of KYODO News was honored the award last year.

Additionally, an LPGA player, chosen by a select panel of prominent journalists who cover the LPGA Tour, will be honored with the Media Appreciation Award for her excellence in working cohesively with the media on a regular basis.

The third-annual LPGA Global Media Awards ceremony will be held at the Hotel Ermitage in Evian-les Bains, France on Friday, July 27 following the second round of the Evian Masters golf tournament. The Evian Masters once again will be played at the Evian Masters Golf Club, in the Evian Resort nestled between Lake Geneva and nearby mountains, and will be preceded by the Evian Masters Juniors Cup, a 36-hole competition enabling aspiring professional golfers a chance to sample the special flavor of a major international gathering.

Below are the finalists:


Josh Sens/Golf Magazine: “So Why Don’t You Know Her Name?”

Ron Sirak/Golf World: “Stage Fright to Stage Presence”

Randall Mell/Golf Channel: “Thompsons Reveal Family Secret”



Rick Reilly/ “Speech Recognition”

Mick Elliott/ESPNW: “LPGA’s Olympic Style Event Could Strike Gold”

Ron Sirak/Golf World: “Lexi’s LPGA arrival is cause for celebration—and also caution”



Randall Mell/Golf Channel: “Gael Force”

Steve DiMeglio/USA Today: “Out of the doldrums, Lindsey wright in a happy place”

Mick Elliott/ESPNW: “Yani Tseng’s Statement Win”


Photograph of Evian Masters Ambassador of the Year (Juli Inkster)

Michael Cohen: Lorena Ochoa Invitational Hunter Martin:  Wegmans LPGA Championship David Cannon: Solheim Cup


Golf Course Photograph/ LPGA Tour Event

Tracy Wilcox: Sunrise LPGA Taiwan Championship Phillippe Millereau: Evian Masters Chris Keane: Sybase Match Play Championship


Player Action Photograph

Scott Halleran: Natalie Gulbis/Evian Masters Phillippe Millereau: Michelle Wie/Evian Masters Bill Fields: Sandra Gal /CME Groups Titleholders


Player Personality/ Emotion Photograph

Tracy Wilcox –IK Kim/Kraft Nabisco Championship Pascale Vandewalle – Virginie Lagoutte-Clement/ Evian Masters Tracy Wilcox – Yani Tseng/Kraft Nabisco Championship

Topics: The Evian Championship, Press Release

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers