Top Storylines for the Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex

Photo Credit: Cioran Castañeda/Getty Images

General view of the 18th hole at the end of the tournament during the closing day of the LPGA Lorena Ochoa Invitational at Country Club Guadalajara.

Week of November 11, 2013
Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex
Guadalajara Country Club
Guadalajara, Mexico

 (Note: Guadalajara is one hour behind Eastern Time)


Top Storylines

The final countdown
This week the LPGA Tour heads south of the border to Guadalajara, Mexico for the penultimate event on this year’s schedule, the Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex. Highlighting this week’s 36-player field is Cristie Kerr who will look to defend her title after taking home a one-stroke victory over Angela Stanford and Inbee Park.

While this week’s event will produce another star-studded winner, all eyes will be on the tight race for Rolex Player of the Year, Vare Trophy, and Louise Suggs Rolex Player of the Year.

Remaining 2013 LPGA Tour Schedule
Date Event Location
Nov. 14-17 Lorena Ochoa Invitational Guadalajara Country Club, Guadalajara, Mexico
Nov. 21-24 CME Group Titleholders Tiburon Golf Club, Naples, Fla.


The Race is ON
With only two events remaining on the 2013 schedule, it has come down to a two-woman race for this year’s Rolex Player of the Year honor. Inbee Park currently holds a 38-point lead over Suzann Pettersen but several different scenarios listed below will determine who will take home this year’s prestigious Rolex Player of the Year crown.

  • If Suzann Pettersen finishes in a tie for third or higher at this week’s Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex and Inbee Park earns no points, Pettersen will still be in the race for Rolex Player of the Year
  • If Suzann Pettersen wins the final two events of the season (Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex and CME Group Titleholders, Inbee Park will need to earn a combined 12 points to win Rolex Player of the Year.
  • If Inbee Park finishes runner-up at the Lorena Ochoa Invitational she will finish in no worse than a tie for first in the Rolex Player of the Year race.
Rolex Player of the Year Points Through Mizuno Classic
Rank Player  Points Earned
1 Inbee Park  290
2 Suzann Pettersen 252
3 Stacy Lewis 203
4 Beatriz Recari  96
5 So Yeon Ryu 88

Rolex Player of the Year Point Distribution
Place Points Place Points
1 30 6 5
2 12 7 4
3 9 8 3
4 7 9 2
5 6 10 1


Vare Trophy…
Stacy Lewis maintained her lead in the Vare Trophy race after firing rounds of 71-68-70 at last week’s Mizuno Classic. While Lewis still holds a slight edge over Suzann Pettersen and Inbee Park, she came back to the field and only holds a 0.021 advantage over Pettersen. With only two events remaining this year, Lewis, Pettersen, and Park are all within striking distance to take home this year’s Vare Trophy.

Scoring Average Through Mizuno Classic
Rank Player Average
1 Stacy Lewis 69.5541
2 Suzann Pettersen 69.5920
3 Inbee Park  69.9340
4 Na Yeon Choi 70.2260


Show Me the Money!
Inbee Park currently leads the Official Money list with $2,335,460 thanks to a standout season that has included six victories but Suzann Pettersen is nipping on her heels with $2,241,847.

This year marks only the second time in LPGA Tour history that two players have earned $2 million in one season. Lorena Ochoa ($2,592,871) and Karrie Webb ($2,090,113) both earned $2 million in the 2006 season.

Official Money List Through Mizuno Classic
Rank Player Money Earned
1 Inbee Park $2,335,460
2 Suzann Pettersen $2,241,847
3 Stacy Lewis $1,791,181
4 So Yeon Ryu $1,171.310
5 I.K. Kim  $1,089,699


Eyeing the Crown
The end of the year awards are not the only thing on players’ minds with only two events remaining this year as the top-8 countries to compete at the inaugural International Crown will be determined after next week’s CME Group Titleholders.

The event, which will be played July 21-27, 2014 at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md., will be a first-of-its-kind, global match play competition featuring teams from eight countries competing for the right to be “crowned” the world’s best golf nation. Each of the countries will be represented by four players which will be determined after the 2014 Kraft Nabisco Championship.

1) South Korea  21 2) United States 40 3) Japan  117
Inbee Park 1 Stacy Lewis 3 Ai Miyazato 15
So Yeon Ryu  6 Paula Creamer 11 Mika Miyazato  21
Na Yeon Choi 6 Cristie Kerr 12 Miki Saiki 39
I.K. Kim 9 Lexi Thompson 14 Rikako Morita 42
4) Spain  260 5) Sweden 301 6) Thailand 321
Beatriz Recari  19 Caroline Hedwall 23 Ariya Jutanugarn 31
Azahara Munoz 32 Anna Nordqvist 25 Pornanong Phatlum 59
Carlota Ciganda 40 Pernilla Lindberg  112 Moriya Jutanugarn 91
Belen Mozo 169 Mikaela Parmlid 141 Onnarin Sattayabanphot 140
7) Australia 332  8) Chinese Tapei  340    
Karrie Webb  8 Yani Tseng 29    
Katherine Hull-Kirk  99 Teresa Lu 56    
Stacey Keating  109 Candie Kung  85    
Lindsey Wright 116 Hsuan-Yu Yao 170    


Quick facts
November 15-17
Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex
Guadalajara Country Club
Guadalajara, Mexico

Field: 36 (36 professionals, 0 amateurs)
Par:  36-36, 72
Yardage: 6,626
Purse: $1,000,000
Winner:  $150,000

Defending champion:
Cristie Kerr 


***This week’s field information: Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex ***

Rolex Rankings
Top 6/10

2013 LPGA Official Money List
Top 10: 7/10
Top 20: 16/20

Past Champions  
2012 Cristie Kerr
2011 Catriona Matthew
2010 I.K. Kim
2009  Michelle Wie
2008 Angela Stanford


Press conference schedule

Wednesday, November 13

2:00 p.m. Inbee Park:  Rolex Rankings No. 1; 9-time LPGA Tour winner
2:15 p.m. Lizette Salas:  Has recorded six top-10 finishes this year including a season-best runner up at the LPGA LOTTE Championship Presented by J Golf
TBD Cristie Kerr:  16-time LPGA Tour winner; defending champion of the Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex
TBD  Suzann Pettersen:  Rolex Rankings No. 2; has recorded four wins this season

*Times are local in Guadalajara

Topics: Storylines, Lorena Ochoa Invitational

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesFloridas NaturalMedjet AssistMichelob ULTRAPrudentialSmuckers