Three Events Remain For Players to Lock in Their Spots for the International Crown

Photo Credit: Gabriel Roux

The field of eight qualifying countries has officially been determined for the International Crown – the first-of-its-kind global team match play competition set for July 24-27, 2014 at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md.

There are now only three events left for players to lock in their spot and represent their country in the inaugural International Crown. Scheduled to take place July 24-27 at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, MD, the International Crown is a first-of-its-kind, biennial, global match play competition featuring teams from eight countries battling for the right to be “Crowned” the world’s best golf nation. Each of the countries will be represented by four players based on the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings announced on Monday March 31st at the Kraft Nabisco Championship.

As the fourth tournament of the season begins this week at the HSBC Women's Champions, South Korea and the United States remain firmly entrenched in the top-2 positions with Japan trailing both by 92 points.

Thailand and Spain have been trading the fourth and fifth spots these past few weeks and with Moriya Jutanugarn and Thidapa Suwannapura making jumps in the Rolex Rankings, Thailand is yet again holding the fourth spot.

Following the exciting win by Anna Nordqvist at the Honda LPGA Thailand, Sweden is lessening the gap between themselves and Spain with only 45 points between them. Nordqvist also jumped into first place for team Sweden over Caroline Hedwall. As play shifts to Singapore this week, there are plenty of storylines to watch in both the International Crown and Rolex Rankings races.

1) South Korea 26   2) United States 36   3) Japan 128
Inbee Park 1   Stacy Lewis  3   Mika Miyazato  24
So Yeon Ryu 5   Lexi Thompson 9   Ai Miyazato 27
Na Yeon Choi 8   Paula Creamer 11   Sakura Yokomine 37
I.K. Kim 12   Cristie Kerr 13   Rikako Morita 40
4) Thailand 242   5) Spain 255   6) Sweden 300
Pornanong Phatlum 31   Beatriz Recari 21   Anna Nordqvist  21
Ariya Jutanugarn 35   Azahara Munoz  32   Caroline Hedwall  22
Moriya Jutanugarn 79   Carolta Ciganda 38   Pernilla Lindberg 112
Thidapa Suwannapura 97   Belen Mozo 164   Mikaela Parmlid 152
7) Chinese Taipei 351   8) Australia 365      
Yani Tseng 39   Karrie Webb  7      
Teresa Lu 53   Katherine Kirk  107      
Candie Kung 94   Stacey Keating 124      
Hsuan-Yu Yao 165   Lindsey Wright 127      


Topics: International Crown

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers