Shanahan-Rowe, Nevatt to defend at National Championship

Shanahan-Rowe, Nevatt defend LPGA T&CP National Championship titles at new venue
LPGA T&CP Hall of Fame induction set for Saturday night

WILLIAMSBURG, Va., Sept. 12, 2009 – More than 102 professionals representing 21 states and one country outside the United States – Brazil – will converge on the River Course at Kingsmill Resort & Spa Sept. 14-16, 2009 for the LPGA Teaching and Club (T&CP) National Championship.   Divided into two divisions – Championship and Senior – Laura Shanahan-Rowe (left), of Bedford, N.H., will defend her 2008 Championship division title, while Linda Nevatt (right), of Churchville, Pa., returns to defend her Senior division title. 

Since 1993, the LPGA T&CP National Championship has been an annual event, hosted in such locales as Pine Needles Country Club (Pinehurst, N.C.), Kingwood Country Club (Houston, Texas), LPGA International (Daytona Beach, Fla.) and World Golf Village – Slammer and Squire (St. Augustine, Fla.).  Last year, Shanahan-Rowe defeated Kelly Cap, of Pinehurst, N.C., by two strokes for the $12,000 winner's check.  Nevatt, the 2009 LPGA T&CP Northeast Section Professional of the Year, soundly captured the Senior division title by five strokes over Troy Beck, of Glenn Dale, Md.

This week, all four women are out on the new venue with a total of 67 women in the Championship division field and 35 in the Senior division field.  Play will commence on Monday, Sept. 14 at 7:30 a.m. off the first tee. 

Other recent award-winning members in the Championship division are Margie Muzik, of Naperville, Ill., the 2009 LPGA T&CP Midwest Section Professional of the Year and the 2009 LPGA T&CP Northeast Section Teacher of the Year Joy Smith, of Kensington, Md.  Past LPGA T&CP Executive Director and Class A member Nancy Henderson will also tee it up this week. 

The LPGA is no stranger to the Kingsmill Resort & Spa River Course as, this past May, Cristie Kerr won the Tour's Michelob ULTRA Open at Kingsmill for the second time in the event's seven-year history. 

LPGA T&CP Hall of Fame Induction

Prior to play starting on Monday, members will attend the LPGA T&CP Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Saturday night for Kerry Graham, director of golf at KRG Enterprises (Paradise Valley, Ariz.); Lorraine Klippel, owner/director of golf at Bumble Bee Hollow Golf, Inc. (Harrisburg, Pa.); Pat Lange, president/owner of Lange Golf, Inc. (Georgetown, Colo.) and Penny Zavichas, president/owner Craft-Zavichas Golf School.  Dignitaries, such as LPGA T&CP co-founder Shirley Spork and current LPGA T&CP Hall of Fame members Annette Thompson and Ann Casey Johnstone, will be in attendance.  Also, current LPGA T&CP National President Patti Benson, president elect Dana Rader and vice president elect Deb Vangellow, as well as LPGA Executive Director Leslie Andrews and LPGA Deputy Commissioner Libba Galloway will be at the ceremony.  The night will start at 7 p.m. and be hosted in the Kingsmill Resort & Spa, Grand Ballroom.

The LPGA Teaching and Club Professional (T&CP) Hall of Fame, established in 2000, is the highest honor given to teaching and club professional members for extraordinary membership service and leadership while contributing to the game of golf and the golf industry. The members of the LPGA T&CP Hall of Fame are chosen with a minimum 90-percent vote by a 10-person Final Selection Committee, which is made up of golf industry leaders.

Current LPGA T&CP Hall of Fame Members

2000    Peggy Kirk Bell

            Patty Berg, LPGA founder and LPGA Tour Hall of Fame member

            Betty Hicks, LPGA T&CP Division founder

            Marilynn Smith, LPGA founder and LPGA T&CP Division founder

            Shirley Spork, LPGA founder and LPGA T&CP Division founder

            Louise Suggs, LPGA founder and LPGA Tour Hall of Fame member

2001    Goldie Bateson

            Ellen Griffin (posthumously)

            Dr. DeDe Owens (posthumously)

            Joanne Winter (posthumously)

2004    Ann Casey Johnstone

2006    Annette Thompson

Topics: Press Release, Teaching and Club Professionals

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers