TCU Lettermen's Association 2010 Hall of Fame Inductee: Angela Stanford

TCU Lettermen's Association Announces 2010 Hall of Fame Inductees

FORT WORTH, Texas - Aug. 11, 2010 - Royce Huffman II, Aaron Schobel, Reggie Smith, Angela Stanford, and Bobby Tyler will comprise the 42nd Class to be inducted into the TCU Lettermen's Association Hall of Fame and will be honored in a formal ceremony and banquet at TCU's Brown-Lupton University Union on September 16, 2010.

"This year's Hall of Fame Class includes a diverse group of athletes who not only provided exceptional results on the field, but have been tremendous ambassadors for TCU off of the field," said Landry Burdine, President of the TCU Lettermen's Association. "The induction of these highly-decorated athletes cements the TCU Lettermen's Association Hall of Fame's place as one of the most distinguished and exclusive honors at our fine institution."

Angela Stanford (Women's Golf | 1997-00) 

Angela Stanford left her mark at TCU as the Frogs' most-decorated women's golfer after coming the only four-time All-American in program history. In addition to being a four-time All-Western Athletic Conference selection, Stanford was also selected as the WAC Player of the Year (1999) and WAC Freshman of the Year (1996) during her stellar career with the Frogs.

The 2000 WAC Tournament champion, Stanford was selected to the 2000 Curtis Cup Team, which defeated Ireland and Great Britain and is comprised of the best amateur women players in the country. Stanford turned professional in 2001 after finishing fourth overall at the LPGA Tour Final Qualifying Tournament and earning her exempt status on the LPGA Tour.

One of the top players today on the LPGA Tour, Stanford is currently ranked 12th in the world and notched her best season on tour during the 2009 season where she finished seventh in the world. The former TCU links standout represented the United States at the Solheim Cup on three occasions (2003, 2007, 2009) and has posted four career victories on the LPGA Tour at the SBS Open at Turtle Bay (2009), Bell Micro LPGA Classic (2008), Lorena Ochoa Invitational (2008) and Shoprite LPGA Classic (2003).

Topics: Press Release, Stanford, Angela

Andrews Sports MedicineArpin Van LinesMedjet AssistPrudentialSmuckers