UPDATE - So Yeon Ryu defeated Lexi Thompson with a birdie on the first playoff hole, the par five, 18th to win her second major championship and first victory on Tour since 2014.
RANCHO MIRAGE, CA – So Yeon Ryu and Lexi Thompson are headed to a playoff.
The pair finished at 14-under par following the completion of 72-holes at the ANA Inspiration.
The pair will return to the 18th hole.
Ryu carded a final round four-under par, 68 punctuated by a birdie at the 72nd hole to take the clubhouse lead at 14-under par. She waited on the practice putting green until Thompson completed her round to find out if there would in fact be a playoff.
Thompson trailed by one heading to the 72nd hole where she reached the par five in two to set up an eagle opportunity for the outright win. The putt finished within inches of the hole, which she tapped in for birdie to finish with a five-under par, 67.
Sunday afternoon, a viewer submitted feedback via LPGA.com that they believed Thompson had incurred a penalty during Saturday’s third round.
The viewer witnessed Thompson, during the third round on Saturday, fail to properly replace her ball prior to putting out on the green at the par three, 17th hole. After being reviewed by LPGA Rules officials, Thompson was deemed to have in fact breached Rule 20-7c. Sue Witters, Vice President of Rules and Competition, notified Thompson between the 12th green and 13th tee that she would be assessed a two-stroke penalty for the infraction and an additional two-stroke penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard.
When notified, Thompson had just made bogey at the 12th hole to hold a two-stroke lead ahead of Pettersen. After the penalty, Thompson dropped to 12-under par and two-strokes back of the lead.
Ryu was 12-under par on the 16th hole when Thompson was notified of the penalty between the 12th and 13th holes. Other players were also notified of the penalty incurred by Thompson.